50 Shades of Stupid

Standard

20160308_160911

I am often offered a seat on the DART, and I just can’t bring myself to sit down. I have no idea why the DART smells so bad, but it stands to reason that it is embedded into the fabric seats. This woman sat in someone else’s gum… seriously. What is wrong with people? She has someone else’s DNA plastered to her leg. Her pants are ruined. She was just trying to get home from work. She has someone else’s DNA on her leg!!!! (Did I mention that horrific concept?)

 

People have started sending me stories and pictures of the train, I received this from colleagues in New York yesterday, and it was too good not to share.

new york train

There are several things I noticed here. 1) starting in the top left, the goth chick looks absolutely horrified. The funniest WTF face is the one from the guy in the brown coat. The guy with the black coat is just like, “I don’t have time to play with you son!”But as you can imagine, that is not what caught my eye. The part of the picture that I focused in on was the right side… the fact that the guy in the yellow seat is totally robbing the guy making the “daaaaammmmmnnnnn” face.

 

20160308_164905-1

While the above view from the train was absolutely beautiful in the stormy weather, it was completely and totally negated by the fact that very close by, this jackass was on the train:

20160308_161450

I don’t even have words for the shades of stupid displayed by this guy. Or the fact that randomly he went through the entire smoking process with his unlit cigarette. I’ve got nothing, honestly.

My favorite conversation happened at the end of the train. When a woman very loudly rejected a guy that was trying to talk to her. She was, well, scantily clad to say the least. She screamed, “why can’t guys just leave me alone.” I didn’t even have time to go Ask Andi on them, he said, “My apologies, I just thought, if she looks like a hooker, and she has sex for money, then she’s probably a prostitute, clearly the misunderstanding is mine.”

Clearly…. but I couldn’t stop laughing long enough to get a picture, but I sure tried.

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

Leave a comment