Humor and Heartbreak

Standard

My mornin20160229_062817g started off…. well off. I wasn’t running late, my Tiger was back, but I am missing my dear Diva friend, and I fear her schedule has changed. I was a nervous wreck that this gentleman kept falling out of his seat. I was a little puzzled as to why he didn’t scoot over to the empty seat right next to him by the window, or why even after he fell over, did he not reposition himself even a little. He would lean WAY over and I’d want to push him back like a typewriter, but The Tiger told me to let him be.

The day at work was a whirlwind, and as I raced to the afternoon train I was greeted by an older man reading out Click Clack Moo, very loudly, with all of the animal voices and the most contagious laugh I had ever heard. Maybe it is my inner librarian that caused me to recognize the book, because nobody else seemed to know the story, and as you can imagine walking by a somewhat senile homeless elderly man screaming out COWS THAT TYPE in hysterical laughter frightened some people. I laughed…a lot. It is a thrilling book, and well, at least he is passionate about literature! I tried to snag you a video, but the blue line invaded the shot.

thug phoneI did catch a shot of my favorite irony. How high up on the totem pole do you have to be that you have entourage that holds the phone up next to your head while you eat your food? Nothing attracts police like someone surrounded by people who has such a command for the people that follow him that he can’t hold his own phone.

I decided to google this trend, and do you know what I found?

Real men hold their own damn phone!

 

 

Do you know who doesn’t hold their own phone??????????????teh queen on the phone

The Queen! The Queen is the only one who doesn’t look like a ginormous idiot when she doesn’t hold the phone. So, my dear aspiring leader of the streets, a badass you are not, but a Queen you can be….congratulations Your Majesty.

 

Backing up to tell you a very sobering part of my day:

I boarded the train mentally reciting click clack moo, and missing my days at the elementary school more than just a little. I noticed a mother and daughter. The little girl whispered to her mother, “That white lady is pretty mama” and  I smiled at them. The mother complimented my sweater and held her daughter close. The daughter resumed looking out the window, and I caught the mom’s attention and asked if I could give her daughter gum. The mother smiled and nodded, and sent the little girl over to me. Their clothes were worn, and the girl thanked me as she took her gum. I offered her two and asked her to share with her mom. She happily went to do just that. The girl made a scrunched up face at the strong mint flavor and blew her fire breath on her mom when she realized how the air felt. As they got off at the next stop, the homeless district, the mother thanked me and told me to have a good day. The little girl followed her mom and my heart smiled, but then the little girl turned to me, hugged my leg, i hugged her back and she said, “I love you!” and plopped a kiss on my cheek. My heart shattered in a million pieces. I didn’t feel an ounce of anxiety or paranoia about germs, I felt heartbroken I felt moved. I missed my kids. I missed pouring into the lives of young people. I miss my kids. I don’t know who that little girl was, but I love her…and I thank her for reminding me why I have to teach again.

 

 

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

Leave a Reply

