Common Sense, Oxygen, and Hair Brushes

Standard

Sometimes I wonder what I would let myself say if I honestly stopped caring what other people think. People often think I have absolutely no filter, but I think so many things that I would never say out loud. I actually think about things like, “will my mom see this” or “will my students see this” or other crazy questions like, “am I being a total girl about this?”

Relationships: My day started out great. My favorite stalker joined me for the morning train and we had a great conversation. I am reminded why my first book will be entitled, “From the Heart of The Other Woman”. I wish I could tell women all of the things their husbands won’t say…. all of those things that they hold in and potentially ruin marriages. I wish I could tell the stalker’s wife that he’s bored and that they should laugh together. I wish I could tell One Guy’s wife that he is stressed out and feels he has to carry the weight for both of them because she’s unintentionally showed him that he can’t count on her. I wish I could tell them and save their marriage… but would they hear me? Would they be threatened by me? I’m not a threat. I am not interested in married men, and I need more in life than just part time. I just wish I could share what people feel they can confide in me because I’m willing to take my emotions out of the equation and look at things honestly and logically.

Personal Care: There are many many many things in life that are overrated. There are at least three things that are not: common sense, oxygen, and personal hygiene.

Is there even a question in life on whether or not your should brush your hair? Try this… if you cannot run your finger through your hair… brush it, comb it, pick it, defuse it, detangle it, cut it, or something of the sort. I have an overwhelming urge to brush this chick’s hair beside me. I have actually picked up the brush in my purse twice, but I have concluded 1) she wouldn’t appreciate it and 2) I would have to give her the brush because those are things we do not share.

Fashion news: guys who wear pants, white socks and slides look like inmates, women should not wear hosiery with opened toe shoes (why is this still a thing after 1964?) and dress shoes with athletic pants has never been ok… never…never…never… never ok.

Parenting: Parenting is not for the faint of heart. Do NOT let your kids make you cry (at least don’t let them see it). Be strong, take a deep breath, count to 10, sing a song, dance, or do whatever you have to do, but do NOT cry.

Communication: Standing in front of someone until they acknowledge you is NOT the same as telling someone what you want. Try “excuse me” for effective ways to get someone’s attention.

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

Leave a Reply

