The Train Bathroom

Standard

The only thing I can imagine that would be more disgusting than a gas station bathroom is an port-a-potty at a fair… about three levels of germ hell past that would be the bathroom on public transportation.

As I type this I am doing the potty dance in my chair and I am faced with the very frightening reality that there is an hour left of my trip and I might actually experience spontaneously combustion before the trip is over. I don’t even know where the bathroom is on, but I know I won’t be finding it. I am pretty sure that nightmare I had about being attacked by flesh eating germs that were large enough to see was set in the bathroom on the train, I am pretty sure.

There is a man hanging out of the door of the train as we are traveling. It is like the human version of a dog that sticks his head out of the window. Maybe he was a hobo in his last life and used to jump trains with Huck Finn.

There is a quiet man at my table today, but the loud people in the next car are more than making up for it. I feel like these people have way more energy than I have at the end of the day… well, ok, at any point in the day.

Other than that, the train ride is relatively uneventful today. More tomorrow.

 

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

Leave a Reply

