Why My Son Gets To Feed The Homeless

Standard

I have been trying to figure it out all day, I started the day in a grumpy mood. It is because of the nightmare that I walked into this morning. I am tired of fighting over the house and chores. I want peace in my home again. I have spent all day trying to decide what it was exactly that I wanted to do to teach my son respect, responsibility and gratefulness in a way that he would never forget. I wrote him the following letter when he arrived home from school:

To my one and only child,

I know you don’t want to hear this, but it is because I love you that the next week or two of your life might be a little difficult. Many of life’s lessons are hard to learn, and learning how to be a responsible member of our family will be no exception. I think that it goes without saying that you are grounded. Not just a little grounded, but the big kind. The kind that I jump into my magic time machine and go back and erase Benjamin Franklin from existence in your life. If it plugs into a wall- you don’t get to use it. You must earn the right to use electricity in our home.

Due to the fact that I believe cell phones are a safety precaution, I will be happy to charge your phone for you, and you may have your phone when you leave the house. Otherwise, please turn it in when you get home. I have taken the liberty of unplugging your video game systems and put all of your games that were strewn across my living room into a box for you. You are welcome.

In order to earn electricity back in this house, you must earn 10,000 points from the following list:

  • Do the dishes -100 pts
  • Take the trash out- 100 pts
  • Do a load of laundry– 100 pts (wash, dry, AND put away)
  • Sweep and mop the common areas- 100 pts (the mop is the squishy thing next the broom)
  • Clean out the car- 100pts
  • Vacuum upstairs- 100 pts
  • Discover the floor to your room – 100 pts
  • Clean the bathroom- 150 pts (if I were the one who missed the seat, this number would be much higher, but since I am not- I don’t feel bad for you)
  • Cook dinner- 500 pts (one that is healthy and edible for all of us)

REQUIRED PARTICIPATION:

  • Use $10 of your allowance to buy lunch meat, cheese and bread. Make sandwiches and I will drive you to the homeless district to give them out- 1,000 pts (while you are giving out sandwiches, please consider whether or not you respect and appreciate our home)
  • Go to the elderly neighbor’s houses around us and offer to take their trash out for them every day when you take ours out. – 1,000 pts
  • Write a formal apology to me and make it count- no points- but required

It will take you some time and effort to earn 10,000 points, but I have confidence that you will find a way, and that in the process, you will learn some pretty amazing lessons.

Good luck, may the odds be ever in your favor,

Mom

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

9 responses »

  1. I like the overall tone of this post and the thinking behind it. My only hesitation is using community service as part of the “punishment” (because I’m sure that’s how he sees it). Perhaps expand on the reflection to turn it into more of a life lesson? Like instead of writing (or along with writing) an apology, maybe he should write 500 words on what he learned while handing out those sandwiches. Just an idea 🙂

    Like

    • I like the idea of writing. We don’t only do community service as punishment but, I would much rather him have to serve with his time than to sit at home doing nothing but being grounded. I need him to have time to reflect and get outside of himself and his situation for a while. We will reflect each time and see if it can prompts some serious thinking about where we live and being grateful for what we have.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

