The Loud One

Standard

Tornado girl arrived on the train this afternoon at 4:22, very much like a natural disaster- everyone knew she had arrived. Everyone knows she is still here. She is loud. She bumps into everyone as she barrels down the isle. She hits people with her oversized bags and acts surprised like this didn’t happen yesterday. Did I mention she is loud? I almost had a brain bleed when she got a phone call. (They are having baked chicken for dinner, her patient is off a ventilator) She talks to people across the train, I feel like I am a hostage at her family reunion. She no longer talks to people…. she yells across the train to other passengers…they yell back in reply. I am not particularly fond of overly loud people. I like peace… In fact, I love peace. I have been searching for a way to ask her, “do you realize you’re loud?” I am saddened to admit that the opportunity has not presented itself.  She doesn’t appear to have bad hearing. I am trying to not wish the same for myself.

Truthfully, she seems nice. I kind of want to like her. I think if she were in another car and I was just watching her be loud to other people, I would like her. But, she isn’t… and I really don’t. I’m sorry.

So, I bring you today’s episode of “Ask Andi On A Train”. It comes from my journey on the DART train, where we stand packed in the train in very close proximity to one another. If you have ever taught with me, you would understand my desire to yell, “Don’t be a space invader!”

The conversation stems from a familiar scene. A very frustrated man is arguing with his significant other. She folds her arms and rolls her eyes and utters men’s most hated word in the English language, “WHATEVER!!!!!” I do not know their situation.

But I do know this: Women have estrogen. It makes us crazy. It is, in fact, the cause of heartache for men around the world. Estrogen is what makes us think you are dead in a ditch when you are late. (You would think that you would see more people lying in ditches with as much as we convince ourselves this happens- I’ve personally never seen a dead person in a ditch, so why do I assume that this happens every time someone is late???) Estrogen makes us ask stupid questions like, “do I look fat” and “who is she”. It’s all estrogen. And the truth is, we are stuck with estrogen. The good news is that you possess the cure for estrogen. It’s called communication. If you will open your mouth and talk before estrogen happens, your girl’s mind will not run wild. But if you let estrogen kick in, you should just pick up a shovel on your way home, it is going to take you a long time to dig out of that mess. And if you allow estrogen-crazed women to get upset enough that they reach out to other estrogen crazed women for help, prepare for the pandemic.”

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

Leave a Reply

