Psychotic Breakdown vs. The Plague

Standard

IMAG0848Homeless guy stood at the doorway of the DART. He was offended by the rest of us entering his train. (I secretly get offended when people sit in my seat even though it is public transportation and they don’t know me). He told invisible guy that we didn’t know who we were messing with. Invisible guy clearly agreed. As the train traveled, I couldn’t help but watch Homeless guy. I tried not stare, but I was so confused and intrigued by him. I wanted to help him calm down. He was angry and upset and on the verge of psychotic breakdown, or maybe psychotic breakdown was  small dot 5 miles back looking in the rear-view mirror at this point, I’m not sure.

What I do know is that Homeless guy started banging on the door as the train traveled through downtown Dallas, screaming, “THIRD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIRD!!!!!!!! I KNOW YOU ARE IN THERE!!!!!!! THIRD OF THE MONTH!!!!!!!! DO YOU HAVE MY MONEY??????????? I GOTTA PAY MY ELECTRIC BILL! ” I think invisible guy told him that he owes him money too. My inner helper kicked in, but I managed to contain myself. It was hard. I felt the veins in my head pulsating, I’m not sure if it was the migraine or my brain experiencing spontaneous combustion as I tried to contain my urge to “help”. I thought about playing “Bitch better have my money” but it didn’t exactly seem like the most opportune time for a flash mob. Instead I just waited.

Everyone else seemed scared of homeless guy. They huddled closer to the girl with the hospital mask. As you know, I was much more worried about The Plague than I was psychosis, I stuck close to the homeless guy and kept my distance from Ebola Girl. In fact, I was intrigued by him. I mean, in truth we have all been stuck waiting on a payday at one point or another. I never thought to look for it on a train car, but Homeless Guy did, and he was pretty determined to find it. And to be honest, I was MUCH more confused by the fact that the homeless guy needed money for an electric bill.

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

