January 27th- AM- The Lion, The Witch and Her Wardrobe

Standard

At 5:25 I board the train to head to work. I cross from one downtown to the next as I begin my day. After three weeks I can finally tell you which lines go to Victory Station and which go to Union Station. I am content on the TRE, it is pleasant, and I like my morning crew. My diva friend who comes in with a pleasant good morning, 2 minute debrief and then puts on her sleeping mask and sleeps blissfully until we arrive in Dallas, my friend sleepy, who has missed his stop more than once as he snoozes. The Tiger doesn’t ride on Wednesdays, secretly, he is my favorite.

This morning I am most confused by the stir-crazy gentleman that has sat in every seat in this car. He is like a caged lion. I understand why he is on the train, as it is typically frowned upon to get up and move while traveling down the highway. I am pretty sure he is on something. Pretty sure. I am intrigued by the woman with luggage and stilettos. She has earned her Halle Berry girl scout badge for her ability to chase the train in 6″ heels. What do you take to work that you need a full suitcase AND two totes? A lady asked her if she was going to the airport, she responded, “No, I do this every day.” Stiletto girl did not seem to enjoy meeting the caged lion, he was especially interested in her.

Yes, I like the TRE, it is quiet and for the most part, it is calm in the mornings. The dreaded trip on the DART though, that is not the same. The DART smells like urine, body odor, and marijuana. I cannot bring myself to sit down. It is dirty, and crowded, and to be honest, I am not really sure where the smell is coming from. I may seem tough, but germs are seriously scary! It might make people slightly uncomfortable that I utilize my right to bear Germ-X. I insistently offer it to people who display Ebola symptoms around me. How does one identify patients with Bronchitis from patients with The Plague? I find little comfort in the hospital mask on the woman in the next isle. I am not really convinced that a sheet of paper over your mouth is going to prevent the spread of The Plague. “Would you care for a mint? Breakfast Bar? Germ-X????? No? Just the Germ-X? Really? No? Well… it’s here if you care for any, in fact, I have an extra bottle, I’m just going to leave this one with you. No, no, I insist, it’s the least I could do.”

As a side-note, if germ-x kills 99.9 % of germs and so does Listerine…. is it safe to deduct that they are, in fact, the same???? Can’t I suggest that coughing people gargle with it? No???? OK. Good talk.

About Andi

This chapter in my life is called, "Managing Millennials". People always say that I have a way with words, and that I am great at managing Millennials. The secret truth to my success? I worked at a public high school. I was an educator that specialized in behavior and building relationships. So what happens when the sweet little kids that inspired me to sponsor clubs, put in extra hours and spend my own money all enter the workforce???? They drive you crazy! I can help! I understand why these participation trophy earning young adults are driving you crazy in the work place. I understand that the fact that we are inheriting a technology talented pool of workers that sit at their desk with ear buds in their ears and celebrate medicocricy in the name if effort. I understand that you are not used to emojis and GIFs in business communication, and that you don't want to stand around on a break discussing memes, vines, YouTube epic fail videos and what you binge watched on Netflix. I once told my students that they would learn to follow my rules because I refused to be miserable for the next 1488 hours of my life. Ninety percent of the time... They did. Now, I tell my millennials that same thing, "Welcome to the workforce. There are policies and procedures in place that will help us get along for the next 2080 hours of our lives." Welcome to my blog, "Let The Managers Say Amen."

Leave a Reply

